vendormoon.blogg.se

Fan control for mac mini
Fan control for mac mini





  1. Fan control for mac mini manual#
  2. Fan control for mac mini software#
  3. Fan control for mac mini mac#

Fan control for mac mini manual#

It has the best-everĪuto mode which considers both CPU and GPU thermal sensors, as well as the super-convenient (literally one-click) manual RPM control.ĭrFan is donationware.

Fan control for mac mini software#

Quiet enough, that is, for me to consider using it as my main computer… if I wanted to primarily use macOS that is.DrFan is a new and most unique fan control software for Apple iMac computers running Windows OS via Boot Camp.

Fan control for mac mini mac#

However, the 2018 Mac mini is a small and silent computing machine for everyday tasks while being quiet enough even under load for the times you need the power. If I had the i5 or i7 six-core models, these figures would likely be higher, with CPU temperatures approaching 100 degrees Celsius. More importantly, the fans didn’t go any higher than about 2600 rpm by the end of the test, nor did CPU temps rise much more. However, fan speeds less than 3000 are generally bearable for short bursts of intense workloads. Later, I tried to set the fan speed to the maximum 4400 rpm using Macs Fan Control, and it was definitely loud enough to not be something you want to sit next to all the time. However, the noise wasn’t all that different from 2300 rpm. I would not call it particularly loud, but also not silent.Īs the minutes passed, the fan gradually sped up even more, reaching 2500 rpm after about 5-10 minutes. The fan was audible at this point, with a soft whirling noise in a quiet room. When the Mac mini was stressed with the advanced workload test, the fans quickly ramped up to about 2200-2300 rpm with the CPU temps at around 90 degrees Celsius. I would have no problems using the Mac mini for everyday tasks and considering it a silent computer. The fan generally stayed close to minimum fan speeds, and at no point did it spin up to high speeds and become noisy. The minimum fan speed of the Mac mini is 1700 rpm, and can go up to 4400 rpm.Īs expected, the Mac mini was nearly silent during the basic workload tasks, and I had to pull my head close to hear the very quiet fan operating. I used Macs Fan Control to monitor the speed of the fans during operation. So how (silently) did the Mac mini perform? The Results This is pretty much the closest reasonable location that you might use it from. While evaluating the Mac mini, I had it placed directly under the monitor and just in front (away from myself) of the keyboard. To simulate an advanced workload that stresses the processor, I then ran these terminal commands to load all the CPU cores for about 30 minutes. I first tested a basic workload, which consists of my normal everyday tasks that shouldn’t stress the computer much, such as browsing the internet, watching videos, listening to music, viewing photos, and reading documents. I went with the i3 since the i5 and i7 6-core processors could reach higher temperatures due to their increased power consumption, making them more likely to spin up the fan speeds as well.

fan control for mac mini fan control for mac mini

I also got the base model with an Intel Core i3 quad-core processor, 8GB of memory, and 256GB of storage.īetween the models, it is only the various CPU offerings that result in thermal, and thus noise, differences. My Mac miniĪs I wrote about previously, the Mac mini I purchased in 2020 is really the 2018 version, so these findings should apply to both.

fan control for mac mini

Let’s see if the tiny yet attractive Mac has a place on the desk of someone who cares about computing noise. I’ve been using the 2020 (really 2018) Mac mini for my normal workloads and running some stress tests on it to determine how silent it truly is.







Fan control for mac mini